NJ Wage & Hour Violations

The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law, New York Labor Law and federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) set the minimum wage and protect the rights of certain employees to earn overtime. As of July 24, 2009, the minimum wage in New Jersey is $7.25 per hour. As of January 1, 2007, the New York minimum wage is $8.00 per hour and is scheduled to increase to $9.00 by December 31, 2015. Certain non-exempt employees that qualify for overtime are entitled to 1½ times their hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 hours per week.

Our NY and NJ wage and hour attorneys have experience litigating claims against employers who have wrongfully denied employees proper minimum wage, overtime benefits and prevailing wages. If you believe your employer has failed to pay you in accordance with the law, please call us at (973) 509-8500 to schedule a consultation.